From April 5, Kyrgyzstan will stop accepting Russian “Mir” cards

From April 5, Kyrgyzstan will stop accepting Russian “Mir” cards


In Kyrgyzstan, since April 5, they will stop servicing Russian “Mir” bank cards. This is reported on the site of the Kyrgyz national payment system “Elkart”. The reason for this decision was the economic sanctions imposed by the US Treasury Department against Russia due to its military invasion of Ukraine.

“Mir” cards in Kyrgyzstan will stop accepting ATMs, it will be impossible to pay with them both in offline stores and on the Internet. Transfers from card to card will also become impossible within the country’s payment system.

The Russian JSC “National System of Payment Cards” – the operator of “Mir” cards – came under immediate US sanctions. However, at the end of last year, US President Joe Biden signed a decree that allows the introduction of secondary restrictions against any organization that violates sanctions against Russia.

Previously, almost all banks in Armenia, some banks in Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Vietnam, and Turkey, as well as Samsung Pay and Apple Pay systems, stopped working with “Mir” cards.


Original Source Link